Jason Johnson Wins Memorial Race in Wheatland Missouri

Jason Johnson

-Wheatland, Mo. (September 24, 2011) – Tim Crawley had designs of sweeping the weekend’s Jesse Hockett / Daniel McMillin Memorial at Lucas Oil Speedway, but Eunice, Louisiana’s Jason Johnson had other ideas as he denied Crawley the top step on the podium in Saturday night’s 30-lap Lucas Oil ASCS race. “The Ragin’ Cajun” gunned into the lead at the outset and then held off some fierce challenges from Crawley in the closing rounds in the fast-paced, non-stop affair to secure the $6,000 win aboard the Weld Racing wheel equipped No. 41 Maxim. Johnson’s 54th career ASCS National win and sixth of the year marked his fourth win in the Memorial event after winning the initial three editions of the Daniel McMillin Memorial in 2007, 2008 and 2009 before Zach Chappell won last year’s Hockett/McMillin Memorial. “This is the first Jesse and Daniel Memorial that I’ve won and that JJR has won, I’m at a loss for words,” Johnson explained in victory lane. “I wish those guys were here.”