Scott Bloomquist Wins COMP Cams Topless 100

  -Batesville, Arkansas- August 21, 2011 Not even a one day delay could slow down Scott Bloomquist as he claimed the win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned, 19th Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 at Batesville Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon. It was his fourth event title. Mother Nature abruptly halted the 100-lap event, after 12 laps of the feature on Saturday night. The race resumed on a steamy Sunday afternoon at the 3/8-mile oval.  Before the green ever waved, bad luck struck fifth place runner, Dale McDowell. His left front tire rolled away from his #17 Clint Bowyer Motorsports Rocket.  He ducked into the hot pit to get the tire reattached, but had to join the tail of the field.  As the action finally resumed Scott Bloomquist led the field back to the green flag with Jimmy Owens, Shannon Babb, Jared Landers, and Bub McCool in tow.  Bloomquist quickly extended his advantage to five car lengths as Owens tried to keep pace.  The caution flag was displayed on lap 15 as fourth place runner, Babb, spun out in turn three. The top five after the restart consisted of Bloomquist, Owens, Landers, McCool, and Steve Francis  By lap 36 Landers had made his way around Owens and was alongside Bloomquist for the lead, but Bloomquist soon motored away from Landers and the remainder of the field.  Over the next several laps Bloomquist built a straightaway lead over the pack, as the top five running order remained the same. A series of cautions had little effect on the running order amongst the leaders until Bub McCool relinquished the fifth position on lap 74 as his right rear tire went down in turn one to bring out the final caution of the event.  Bloomquist continued to maintain a sizeable lead, the battle for the second spot began again to intensify, and Jimmy Owens used lapped traffic to his advantage to move past Landers for the second spot in turn two on lap 89.  Over the course of the next six laps, drama began to build as Owens erased Bloomquist’ straightaway lead as he trailed the leader by only one car length at the flag stand with five laps to go.  Despite his best efforts, Owens was unable to overtake Bloomquist. The Mooresburg, Tennessee driver piloted his #0 Hawkeye Trucking/Bloomquist/Roush Yates Racing Engine Super Late Model to his fourth COMP Cams Topless 100 triumph.  LOLMDS point’s leader, Jimmy Owens crossed the finish line in second in his #20 Reece Monuments/Bloomquist/Cornett entry. Defending champion, Jared Landers, rounded out the podium in his #777 Rocket/ECR Racing Engine Super Late Model.  All three top finishers raced on Weld Racing wheels.  With Bloomquist’s tenth tour triumph of the 2011 season, Jimmy Owens saw his lead in the LOLMDS standings trimmed to 140 points heading into the next weekend’s events at Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, Tennessee) on Thursday, August 25th; Lawrenceburg Speedway in Indiana on Friday, August 26th; and Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, KY on Saturday, August 27th.